China suspends extradition treaties with Canada, Australia, Britain

Angered over Canada, Australia and Britain’s decision to suspend extradition treaties with China, Beijing, in a tit-for-tat move has announced the suspension of Hong Kong’s extradition treaties with the three countries. 
Canada, Australia and Britain are part of the ‘Five Eyes’ intelligence alliance. The other members, New Zealand, which suspended its extradition treaty with Hong Kong earlier, and the United States, which has signaled it is preparing to do the same.
“The wrong action of Canada, Australia and the UK in politicizing judicial cooperation with Hong Kong has seriously hurt the basis of judicial cooperation,” Hong Kong Free Press quoted Chinese foreign ministry spokesman Wang Wenbin as saying.
“China has decided to suspend extradition treaties between Hong Kong and Canada, Australia and the UK, as well as criminal justice cooperation agreements,” he added.
Many countries are angry over China’s move to implement Hong Kong security law. The legislation, which came into effect ahead of July 1 punishes secession, subversion, terrorism and foreign interference with up to life in prison.
While Australia, Britain and Canada have suspended the extradition treaties earlier, New Zealand announced the move on July 28. Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Peters said that “New Zealand can no longer trust that Hong Kong’s criminal justice system is sufficiently independent from China.”